Tao Of Tunings

Alternate Tunings for Guitar, by Mark Shark

Audio Examples

The songs on the CD are improvisational pieces that demonstrate some of the possibilities that exist in each tuning.

Some of the pieces are based on songs I have written, but most are improvised in the studio. Some of the more discordant pieces were conceived while staring at one of the tuning maps and freeing myself up to explore.

I would also like to urge you to take the transcriptions with a grain of salt.

It may be nice to be able to play them exactly as written, but the real treasure lies in the advantages gained by the gathering of information, ideas, and concepts.

As you develop your understanding, don’t hesitate to incorporate your own ideas into the mix.

Exploration and experimentation is key!

Track Title Page
1. G Major Intervals 27
2. G Mixolydian Intervals 28
3. G Minor Pentatonic Scale 28
4. G Major Pentatonic Scale 28
5. G Slide Lick #1 28
6. G Slide Lick #2 28
7. G Slide Lick #3 28
8. G Slide Lick #4 28
9. Slack-Key Tuned Down a Whole Step 09-slack-key-tuned-down-a-whole.mp3 29
10. Electric Slide 10-electric-slide.mp3 30
11. Blues Shuffle 31
12. Acoustic Slide 32
13. C Harmonic Minor, Fifth Mode 13-c-harmonic-minor-fifth-mode.mp3 33
14. D Mixolydian Sitar Cross Guitar 14-d-mixolydian-sitar-cross-guit.mp3 34
15. E Major Intervals 38
16. E Mixolydian Intervals 38
17. E Minor Pentatonic Scale 39
18. E Major Pentatonic Scale 39
19. E Slide Lick #1 39
20. E Slide Lick #2 39
21. E Slide Lick #3 39
22. E Slide Lick #4 39
23. E Minor Pentatonic Slide 40
24. C Major Intervals 43
25. C Mixolydian Intervals 43
26. C Minor Pentatonic Scale 44
27. C Major Pentatonic Scale 44
28. C Slide Lick #1 44
29. C Slide Lick #2 44
30. C Slide Lick #3 44
31. C Slide Lick #4 44
32. Fingerpicking with Slide 45
33. 12-String Fingerpicking 33-12-string-fingerpicking.mp3 46
34. Flatpicking in D-A-D-G-A-D 49
35. Celtic Fingerpicking 35-celtic-fingerpicking.mp3 51
36. C Minor 12-String 36-c-minor-12-string.mp3 56
37. G Suspended Song 60
38. C Suspended 12-String 65
39. G Sharp-Four Song 39-g-sharp-four-song.mp3 68
40. E Minor 11 Song 40-e-minor-11-song.mp3 70
41. C Wahine Song 41-c-wahine-song.mp3 72
42. E Tuning Three-String Grouping 74
43. G Tuning Three-String Grouping 74
44. C Tuning Three-String Grouping 74
45. E Tuning Three-String Song 75
46. G Tuning Three-String Song 76
47. C Tuning Three-String Song 77
48. Double Dropped D Song 81
49. D-A-D-D-A-D Minor Slide 82
50. G-G-D-G-G-D 84
51. G Minor Drone 85
52. G Lydian Song 90

 
Author’s Note 

The exercises on the book’s accompanying CD are designed to illustrate the best way to read the fretboard diagrams, or as I like to call them, “maps.”

To get the most out of each map, look for the shapes that exist in a linear fashion up and down the neck on adjacent and nonadjacent strings. This will help you get the most out of each tonality.

Also, look laterally (across the neck) for scale patterns and shapes that repeat from tuning to tuning. Often a combination of intervals will simply shift string groupings.